Celebrate Anniversaries

With the New Year here and people making resolutions abound, I thought I would suggest just one small thing that you could do for a person you know that has diabetes, or really any chronic illness in 2012. 

People are surprised when I tell them that ever since Will and I were diagnosed with diabetes my parent’s have celebrated our diabetes anniversary. On my first Anniversary I got to choose where we went out for dinner. They both gave me a card saying how proud they were of me and how they realize the struggles that I have to work through on a daily basis. I would also receive a small gift of some kind. My parents have always told me that they would do whatever they could to make Will and I’s life easier.

Now that I’m in my 20’s some of my friends even remember when my anniversary is (maybe that’s because it lands on St. Patrick’s Day!). They will send a card or an e-mail just sending me positive thoughts. It’s such a small thing but it’s really helped in my journey knowing that I have a strong support system.

Will, my friend Emily, and me

One thought on “Celebrate Anniversaries

  1. Happy diaversary to you and your bro, when that time arrives! It’s interesting… how some “celebrate” while others completely disavow the date and don’t recognize it. I actually don’t know mine, just that it was the early spring sometime when I was 5. Didn’t really start marking it until a few years ago, thanks to seeing others write and talk online about their diaversaries. So, I actually chose a date and now mark it every year – as a kind of pat on the back that I’ve survived another year with the D. Going on 28 now. Anyhow, thanks for writing this!

Leave a Reply

