Happy Belated Valentine’s Day

I know I’m a little late on this post and maybe even a bit late to get on the Valentine’s Day appreciation wagon, but this year I did participate. In year’s past I was known to wear all black in my own memorial for this Hallmark holiday. I was having a conversation with a friend last year around this time and she said that Vday is her favorite holiday. I was stunned.

“How could it be your favorite holiday? Is it because you’re married?”

Jeanette replied quickly, “The marriage part is nice of course, but I’ve always loved the holiday. I see it as a day to appreciate all the people in my life who I love and who love me. I write them cards on the 14th telling them what they mean to me in my life.”

So in Jeanette’s spirit I now wear all red on this day. I feel blessed to have wonderful friends and family around me who I love dearly and have loved me through the ups and the downs.

This last weekend I went to visit my Grandpa who was recently hospitalized. He’s a strong Christian man, World War II Veteran, wonderful husband, Dad, and Grandfather. My respect for him is immeasurable. Sitting around his bed with my family was difficult, but it also helped me reflect on what love is and what it looks like. It looks like my Grandma sitting next to my Grandpa on the hospital bed after 60 years of marriage and still cracking jokes with each other and supporting each other through everything…how I will always be the middle sister, referee, with my two brothers at all photo sessions….experiencing other cultures internationally through travel….God’s grace….and every Monday night at my house sitting around my living room with the best girl friends in the world. That’s what love is.



Leave a Reply

