Singing for the Twins & 2013

I know that I haven’t blogged for several months. Not because a lack of ideas. Instead I chose to take the last couple months off (from social media) and immerse myself into some special work projects.

At the end of May,  Twin’s Baseball called me and asked if I would do the honors of singing “Take me out to the Ballgame” for the 7th twinsinning stretch for the diabetes awareness game. I said yes right away, but then thought to myself, “they never asked me if I could sing?” I was never much of a singer, let alone with any decent tone. They let me have some friends and family sing with me and all in all it was a great game with a lot of money and awareness raised for diabetes.

In the fall I was asked to film a patient testimonial for Medtronic Diabetes. I’ve worn their pump & continuous Glucose Monitor for the last 10 years..so it was an honor to be asked to share my experiences as a pump devotee. I’ll let you know when they post it on their site.

Then in December I got a call from an Entertainment Company to shoot a short video for Delta Airlines & MSN. It was a whirlwind trip to California. They chose people to tell a crazy, outrageous travel story that had happened to them. Mine involved diabetes(of course, right?). In my next blog post I’ll tell you the harrowing story of getting trapped in a white-out blizzard in Iowa and being stuck at a gas station for 24 hours without my diabetes supplies. I was told that the project is set to debut in March. I’ll be sure to keep you all in the loop.

grandpaThis last summer I lost my dear Grandfather. He taught me so much about life and how to treat other people. I miss him greatly. Now each day I will move forward with doing things that honor his memory.

With the New Year comes talk of the list of “Resolutions” that are bound to be made. As a “recovering perfectionist” I easily can get down on myself for not hitting each resolution perfectly…no slip ups, no mistakes. This year I want to make general things to strive for. Be kinder and gentler to myself. Enjoying the little things. Appreciate friends and family. Continue to do the work that I’m so passionate about doing…diabetes awareness. Give thanks to God.

What are you striving for in 2013?

 

One thought on “Singing for the Twins & 2013

  1. Good to see you’re back to blogging, Quinn. Fantastic goals for 2013, which make me reflect a bit myself. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

