“Let Them Eat Cake”

When we hear the phrase “Let them eat cake” we think of Marie Antoinette’s answer upon learning that the peasants had no bread. IMG_1737

As I celebrated my 27th Birthday this past Thursday (ok I also celebrated the day before and the day after) I thought of living life with diabetes and having other people respond with, “Well, are you allowed to have birthday cake?” My answer is a resounding YES. When I was first diagnosed with type-1 diabetes almost 14 years ago, there was more of an emphasis on not going over a certain gram amount in sugar and meals and snacks was very scheduled.

As a person living with diabetes I need to be conscious of the total amount of carbohydrates in my diet, and like ANY food that I eat, dessert foods count as carbohydrates. It doesn’t mean I can’t have a slice of cake on my birthday (I requested Red Velvet!), because I can. I just can’t eat a whole cake, like it’s not a good idea for me to eat a loaf of bread and a box of Mac’n’Cheese. But who is that good for? It’s too many carbohydrates…doesn’t matter if it’s a sweet treat or a salty one. I try to live my life like anyone else, I just happen to have a pancreas that doesn’t work. Everything in moderation. Here’s to another great year of life! photo

2 thoughts on ““Let Them Eat Cake”

  1. Happy birthday, Quinn!

  2. HAPPY Birthday QUINN !! Thanks for the blog post !

Leave a Reply

