STOP Diabetes Gala 2013!

This day is like a second version of Christmas to me…diabetes style! 🙂 The American Diabetes Association (ADA) puts on a lot of

Mud mask time with my friend Liz & cousin Katelyn

Mud mask time with my friend Liz & cousin Katelyn

incredible fundraising events across the country every year. The STOP Diabetes Gala for the MN ADA holds theres at Treasure Island, just south of St. Paul, MN. Like I told my friends…it’s our version of an adult prom!

We started our day with pampering for the gals in the “girls only” designated room…mud masks and all! The guys were locked in the other room watching the Kentucky Derby. 🙂 We had a wonderful group who all chipped in and bought a table together. It was fun getting to

Former Exec. Director of MN ADA, Jenni Hargraves...seeing her was a highlight for me!

Former Exec. Director of MN ADA, Jenni Hargraves…seeing her was a highlight for me!

see so many people who I consider a 2nd family to me. I’ve sort of grown up with the association by starting out as a volunteer at the age of 10 so the gala is a wonderful reunion.

The dinner was wonderful (the dessert was my favorite…red velvet cake)…my best friend Kate and I even did a cheers with our forks! The night was inspiring by all accounts. The ADA did a wonderful job in showing everyone the ADA’s mission as well as giving out awards to very deserving people and organizations who have dedicated themselves to helping in the fight. An unexpected moment happened when my good friend Emily Stunek got up to speak. I knew she was speaking about her involvement with the association…but that was about it. She shared her story of being a junior high kid and a high school kid coming into the junior high and speaking about her ADA volunteer experience and how that forever changed her life. And that high school student happened to be me. Sometimes I can get very

Emily (left) speaking at the gala

Emily (left) speaking at the gala

frustrated with myself thinking I haven’t worked hard enough or raised enough money for diabetes….but Emily’s speech brought me back to why I devoted my life to this cause…by wanting to help other young women see that there is life after diabetes….and a wonderful, fulfilled life at that. Thank you Emily for that sweet reminder.

All in all the event raised over $150,000! If you didn’t have an opportunity to support Camp Needlepoint and Camp Daypoint during the financial appeal at the gala you can still do so by making a donation at http://main.diabetes.org/site/Calendar?id=34701&view=Detail   All donations to support Camp Needlepoint and Camp Daypoint are 100% tax deductable.

You all better join me at the 2014 Gala! 🙂 photo[11]

Special thanks to Kate & Matt Penz, Shannon & Katelyn Reabe, Rob Andree, Charlie Young, Liz Neaton & Joel, Emily & Jake Stunek, & Jeanette Sterner for such a wonderful night!

Leave a Reply

